On Tuesday, the Centre extended its suspension of international scheduled commercial flights till October 31st, 2021 to curb the spread of COVID-19. In the latest circular issued by the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) stated that cargo flights, those approved by the regulator to operate, and certain scheduled flights approved case-wise would be exempted. The ban has been in place since March 23rd 2020, but allows flights to and from 25 countries that have an air bubble agreement with India. The United States, the United Kingdom, the United Arab Emirates, the Maldives, the Netherlands, France, Germany, Qatar and Bhutan are a few examples. Despite the ban, India has allowed some select flights to operate in order to repatriate stranded citizens.