Saudi Arabia will impose a three-year travel ban on citizens travelling to countries on the kingdom’s ‘red list’ in efforts to curb the spread of coronavirus and its new variants, state news agency SPA stated on Tuesday. It cited an unnamed interior ministry official as saying that some Saudi citizens, who in May were allowed to travel abroad without prior permission from authorities for the first time since March 2020, had violated these travel regulations. “Anyone who is proven to be involved will be subject to legal accountability and heavy penalties upon their return, and will be banned from travelling for three years,” said the official. Saudi Arabia has banned travel to a number of countries, including Afghanistan, Argentina, Brazil, Egypt, Ethiopia, India, Indonesia, Lebanon, Pakistan, South Africa, Turkey, Vietnam, and the United Arab Emirates.